Espiscopal Council - ELCSA website

Go to content

Main menu:

Espiscopal Council

About Us > Leadership

The Episcopal council is presided over by the Presiding Bishop, consisting of the Bishops of the dioceses and one ordained member of each diocese appointed by the diocesan council with power to co-opt theological experts.

The council meets at least once a year.

The Episcopal council  have the duty to advise and admonish the church as a whole and all councils of the church.
One of the outstanding duties is to take care that the unity of the church is always manifested in its life.

If it considers that decisions may tend to be harmful or contradictory to the teaching of the Word of God or to the doctrine of the church, it may defer such decisions of either the general assembly or the church council until the next meeting of the respective bodies.

Members of the Episcopal Council




Bishop LJ Selwane

Rev. B Masiya


Bishop NP Phaswana

Dean JM Mankga


Bishop PP Buthelezi

Dean SP Lwandle

South Eastern

Bishop AM Minisi

Rev. Dr. Pererira


Bishop SWS Sihlangu

Dean E Mnisi


Bishop WR Bowles

Rev. SC Carelse

Cape Orange

Bishop MM Ditlhale

Rev. JM Mogale



Rev E.B. Zulu



GS Rev PB Mathe

Churchwide Office

Back to content | Back to main menu